All Oregonians 16 or older will be eligible to get vaccinated against COVID-19 starting April 19. If you’re 16 or older — or the parent of someone who is — here’s what you should know:
- Under Oregon law, minors 15 and older may give consent to medical treatment, including vaccinations, provided by a physician, physician assistant, naturopath, nurse practitioner, dentist or optometrist, or others operating under the license of these providers, without the consent of a parent or guardian.
- Only the Pfizer vaccine is authorized for emergency use in people under the age of 18. People who are 16–17 years old should look for appointments in locations that have the Pfizer vaccine.
- You can visit OHA’s How to Find a COVID-19 Vaccine in Oregon page or VaccineFinder.org to find a vaccine provider in your community. OHA is working to expand availability of Pfizer to help folks under 18 get connected to vaccine appointments.
- Individuals will not need to bring proof of eligibility, ID, social security number or health insurance. The vaccine is free for everyone.
- After vaccination, individuals might experience fatigue, headache, muscle aches, chills, joint pain, vomiting or fever. Most symptoms clear up in a day or two.
- Pfizer is a two-dose vaccine. All individuals who receive a Pfizer vaccine will need to schedule a follow-up appointment to receive the second dose 21 days after the first dose.
For more information on vaccination for 16 and 17-year-old people, see OHA’s Frequently asked questions about the COVID-19 vaccine for 16- and 17-year-olds.