Counties approved to expand vaccinations

On March 22, the Oregon Health Authority began announcing the names of the counties that had submitted attestation letters signaling their intention to immediately offer COVID-19 vaccinations to expanded eligibility groups. 21 counties have submitted such letters to date.

The counties are: Baker, Benton, Deschutes, Douglas, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Malheur, Marion, Morrow, Polk, Sherman, Umatilla, Union and Yamhill.

By attesting, these counties can now begin vaccinating all individuals listed in Phase 1B, Group 6, ahead of the previously designated statewide start date of March 29. 

Group 6 is composed of: 

  • Adults ages 45 to 64 with one or more underlying condition with increased risk. 
  • Migrant and seasonal farm workers 
  • Seafood and agricultural workers 
  • Food processing workers 
  • People living in low-income, senior congregate and independent living facilities 
  • Sheltered and unsheltered individuals experiencing houselessness 
  • People displaced by wildfires 
  • Wildland firefighters 
  • Pregnant people 16 and older 

The Get Vaccinated Oregon tool is being updated to accommodate this newly added population of people eligible for vaccination.

This article first appeared in the March 22, 2021 issue of Oregon Coronavirus Update and will be updated as more counties submit letters of attestation.